The Maynooth University Department of Biology received a Bronze Institutional Athena SWAN Award in April 2019.

The Department of Biology applied for an Athena SWAN Bronze Department Award in the November 2018 round. Biology is the first Department in Maynooth University to apply for accreditation. Results from the November 2018 submission round will be known by April 2019. The application was prepared by the Biology Self-Assessment Team (SAT). The SAT is chaired by lecturer Dr Karen English, who also sits of the institutional Gender Equality Steering Group.
 

Name Grade E-mail Role
Dr Karen English Lecturer karen.english@mu.ie Biology SAT Chair
Professor Paul Moynagh Professor paul.moynagh@mu.ie Head of Dept
Nicholas Irani Senior Technician nicholas.irani@mu.ie SAT member
Dr Joanne Masterson Lecturer joanne.masterson@mu.ie SAT member
Gillian O'Meara Senior Technician gillian.omeara@mu.ie SAT member
Terry Roche Administrative Officer terry.roche@mu.ie SAT member
Dr Paul Dowling Lecturer paul.dowling@mu.ie SAT member
Dr Clementina Sidoli O'Connor Executive Assistant clementina.sidolioconnor@mu.ie SAT member
Professor Bernard Mahon Professor bernard.mahon@mu.ie SAT member
Johanna Isaza Correa PhD Student johana.isazacorrea.2015@mumail.ie SAT member
Dr Ronan Bergin Postdoctoral Researcher ronan.a.bergin@mu.ie SAT member