The Maynooth University Researchers’ Association (MURA) composed by post-doctoral researchers and research staff in Maynooth University. The overall aim of MURA is to promote the interests of research staff in Maynooth University and in so doing to create a working environment which encourages excellence in research and serves to attract and retain high quality researchers. In other words, MURA exists to encourage greater recognition of the contribution of researchers to academic life through parity of esteem and reward. This will include, inter alia, advocating:
·      The development of career paths for researchers with appropriate job titles and salary scales, pensions and other benefits on a par with those of other academic staff.
·      The creation of more permanent posts for researchers.
·      The eligibility of research staff to vote for elective posts within MU, regardless of length of service.
·      The representation of research staff on MU committees.
In summary, we provide a forum for research staff to meet, network and discuss issues of mutual concern and in so doing to build a cross-disciplinary MU research community.
MURA membership is open to all postdocs and research staff based in Maynooth University, including PhD students as associate members. We organise events and informal meetings throughout the year.
If you want to join MURA and/or our mailing list please
Follow us on twitter @MaynoothUniRA


2021/2022 MURA elected Committee Members:
Aileen O’Carroll (Chair)  
Richard Lombard-Vance (Vice-chair)  
Deirdre Nic Carthaigh (Treasurer) 
Saurav Kumar Guin (Secretary) 
Féaron Cassidy (Committee Member) 

MURA is a member of Irish RSA – Irish Research Staff Association

Note: The Maynooth University Researchers’ Association (MURA) is an independent forum, established by post-doctoral researchers and research staff in the university, outside of the Maynooth University Social Sciences Institute formal remit