Department of Psychology

Staff offices are located in the John Hume building and in the Education House building, both of which are located on the North Campus. Ms. Caroline Edwards is responsible for the administration of the undergraduate and MSc degrees. Students may call to the Departmental Office concerning any matter on Monday to Thursday: 10.00 to 11.30 and 14.30 to 16.00. You may also contact the office by telephone 01-708 4765. The office is closed all day Friday.

If you wish to talk to one of the lecturing staff, you can do so during the specified Consultation Hours. These Consultation Hours should be thought of as “Student Time” when you can talk with lecturing staff about the content of their modules, seek clarification or discuss difficulties with the material. If you want to consult a staff member outside those times, or online via Teams, you should email them to make an appointment. Lecturers cannot deal with detailed academic matters pertaining to the content of lectures, tutorials, practical assignments, or examinations over email or by telephone. Contact with lecturers by telephone or email should only be made to arrange appointments to meet in person or via Microsoft Teams. Under no circumstances should a lecturer or teaching assistant be contacted outside of the University setting.

Under normal circumstances, face-to-face meetings are generally preferable to ensure that students are engaging fully with the learning process, which relies heavily on the Socratic method of enquiry and investigation. However, face-to-face meetings are not always feasible, as has been the case over the past two years. Furthermore, not all lecturers or students may be in a position to meet in a face-to-face setting and may be available for online consultations only. In the event that you or your lecturer cannot meet in person, you can schedule an appointment for an online consultation. This will likely take place over Microsoft Teams, to which all students have access. Remember that you are a full-time student and so should be available during the week to meet in person or online with your teaching assistants and lecturers during the appointed times.

Dr Michael Cooke
Please email for appointment
Professor Mac MacLachlan  
Wednesday 4.00pm 

Professor Sinead McGilloway 
Please email for appointment (in person or via teams)

Dr Bryan Roche
Tuesday 10.00 am–11.00 Thursday 10.00am – 11.00

Prof  Sean Commins
Monday 10.00 am-11.00 am,  Tuesday 4.00-5.00pm

Dr Richard Roche
Tuesday 2.00 pm-4.00 pm, Wednesday 2.00 pm-5.00 pm (FYP only)

Dr Rebecca Maguire 
Wednesday 9.45-11.45 Via teams or in person (please email in advance) 

Prof  Deirdre Desmond
Tuesday 9.45-11am

Dr Brenda Guiducci
Thursday 11.00am -1pm 
Dr Laura Coffey                                    
Thursday 2-4pm For on line consultation via Teams, please email                                                                                   

Dr Peter Murphy
Fridays 9.00-11.00 (please email in advance)

Dr Unai Diaz-Orueta
Tuesday 9.30-11.30am (semester 1)
Wednesday 9.30-11.30 (semester 2 )
Dr Philip Hyland
Thursday 10.00-12.00

Dr Michael Daly
Tuesday 2.00-4.00
Prof Fiona Lyddy
Tuesday 12.00-2.00pm

Prof Andrew Coogan
Friday 10am-11am

Dr Katriona O‘Sullivan
Tuesday 10.00am-11.00am
Thursday 10.00am-11.00am          
Dr Joanne McVeigh
Monday 10.00am-12.00pm
Dr Dermot Lynott
Thursdays, 9.45-11.45 (please email in advance). 
Dr Tadgh McIntyre
Wednesday 10.00am-12pm                       
Dr Sadhbh Bryne
Please email for appointment         

Dr Peter Murphy
Tuesday 2.00pm-4.00pm