MU Students receive Fulbright Irish Awards 2022-23

MU students Stephanie Joyce and Cathal Ryan pose with MU alumna and fellow Fulbright Scholar Alswyn Hennessey Doyle as they celebrate their awards
Friday, June 10, 2022 - 10:00

Maynooth University students among the Fulbright scholars for 2022-23

Maynooth University students were among the recipients of Fulbright Awards which were presented at a ceremony in Iveagh House earlier this week.

Stephanie Joyce, a final year Arts student, will pursue a Masters of Education / Teaching credential programme at The University of California, Berkeley, continuing her study on naming and interrupting systems of oppression, and centering the knowledges, values, and experiences of marginalized communities.

Cathal Ryan, a PhD student in the Department of Biology, will travel to the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland, where he will perform a variety of next-generation RNA sequencing studies such as PAR-CLIP and Ribo-seq.

The awards were presented by the Secretary General of the Department of Foreign Affairs, Joe Hackett, and the Deputy Chief of Mission at the U.S. Embassy in Dublin Alexandra McKnight, on behalf of US Ambassador to Ireland Clare Cronin.

The Fulbright Commission in Ireland has served to strengthen international relations for seventy-five years with the vision of ‘inspiring minds to create a global culture of understanding.’ This year’s Irish awardees will undertake research, teaching and study in the USA addressing pressing societal issues, engaging with US society, and sharing their knowledge when they return home.

Joe Hackett, Secretary General of the Department of the Foreign Affairs, said: “I extend my warmest congratulations to the Irish Fulbright Awardees for 2022–2023. Fulbright scholarships provide a transformational experience for individuals and play a crucial role in sustaining the close relationship Ireland and the United States share. Every year, Fulbright recipients have the exciting opportunity to study, work, and experience life in the US, and to represent the best of Ireland. I wish this year’s Awardees every success for their time in the US.”