Department of Adult & Community Education in conjunction with the Alumni Office was extremely proud  to host a very special event looking at the life, work and influence of one of the twentieth century’s best loved poets and singer/songwriters Leonard Cohen. The event brought together the Alumni Summer Soirée and the BA in Community Studies Summer School 2019 ‘Popular Culture and the Making of Meaning- social issues in the works of Leonard Cohen, Dory Previn and Paul Simon’. The programme was conceived of and delivered by author, poet, playwright and friend of Leonard Cohen’s, John MacKenna.
Very special guests for the night were two artists who had such a distinctive part to play in Leonard Cohen’s return to live performances Charley and Hattie Webb  Charley and Hattie’s performance on the night transported the audience to another realm. Their harmonies soared into the night on ‘Baroque Thoughts’, ‘Show me the place’ and ‘If it be your will’ with such style and grace that their sobriquet of the Sublime Webb Sisters was confirmed as they turned the Aula Maxima into a celestial space of light and sound.  The transformation of the ‘hall’ into a venue beyond recognition had been overseen by Karen Kelly from DARO and Ayoma Bowe. 
 On the night, John, Hattie and Charley were joined by novelist and poet Dermot Bolger, renowned songwriter and musician Kevin Doherty, and academic, writer and activist Dr Brid Connolly who remembered Leonard Cohen and spoke about his influence upon both their own work and their personal life.  The night was conceived as a way to remember and reacquaint with old friends but a lot of new friends were made along the way.