Programme Proposal Submissions

Proposals for new programmes, micro-credentials and requests for modifications to existing programmes should be submitted to the Academic Programmes Committee by email at and where relevant (i.e., postgraduate programmes), copied to the Dean of Graduate Studies

Proposals for new micro-credentials should also be sent to Dr Zsuzsanna Zarka, who is Project Lead for the University's involvement in the IUA Micro-credentials project. Please refer to the Maynooth University Framework for Micro-credentials listed in the guidance section below.

New elective stream proposals should be submitted to the Dean of Teaching and Learning who will then submit to the Academic Programmes Committee.

Programme Proposal Process

If available, the full programme proposal (including the module descriptors with details of assessment and learning outcomes) should be submitted at Stage 1. This will ensure that the proposal is considered in the most efficient and timely manner.

Should the module descriptors and details of assessment and learning outcomes not be submitted at Stage 1 and, if following initial consideration, the Academic Programmes Committee agrees that the programme would be beneficial to the University, the full programme proposal, with a swift turnaround, will be requested from the proposer.

Academic Programme Proposal Forms 2022-23

New Programme Proposal Form 2022-23
Modification to Programme Proposal Form 2022-23
New Elective Stream Proposal Form 2022-23
Micro-credential Proposal Form 2022-23


 Guide to the Process for Approval of New Academic Programmes and Modules

Guide for Development of Programmes and Modules 2023
New Academic Programme Proposal Process 2022-23
Maynooth University Framework for Micro-credentials May 2022


Deadlines for submission of Programme Proposals during academic year 2022-23

Undergraduate programmes requiring CAO entry in 2023 for admission in September 2024 

4 November 2022

Programme proposals received after this deadline will be accepted and considered by the Academic Programmes Committee but the approval process may not be completed on time to ensure inclusion in the CAO Handbook for 2024 admission.

Postgraduate programmes and programmes not requiring CAO entry for admission in September 2023 

25 November 2022

Programmes proposals received after this deadline will be accepted and considered by the Academic Programmes Committee but the approval process may not be completed on time to ensure entry to the Postgraduate Prospectus.  In this case, responsibility will lie with the Department/School to market these programmes.

To ensure timely and efficient consideration, it is recommended to submit new programme proposals for consideration by the Academic Programmes Committee as follows:


Deadline for Submission of Proposals Initial consideration by the Committee
26 August 2022 14 September 2022
30 September 2022 19 October 2022
4 November 2022 23 November 2022
25 November 2022 14 December 2022
21 December 2022 18 January 2023
10 February 2023 1 March 2023

If you have any queries in relation to academic programme proposals, please email

Academic Programmes Committee 2019-2022:

Chair: Vice-President Academic:
Professor Aidan Mulkeen, Registrar

Faculty of Arts, Celtic Studies and Philosophy:
Dr Susi Gottlöber, Associate Dean of Teaching and Learning
Dr Tracey Ní Mhaonaigh 
Professor Chris Morris

Faculty of Science and Engineering:
Professor Ronan Farrell, Dean
Dr John Keating, Associate Dean of Teaching and Learning
Professor John Stephens 
Professor Deirdre Desmond

Faculty of Social Sciences:
Professor Peter McNamara, Dean
Dr Helen Shaw, Associate Dean of Teaching and Learning
Dr Catriona O'Toole
Dr Adrian Kavanagh

Vice-President International:
Professor Patrick McCole

Dean of Teaching and Learning:
Professor Alison Hood

Graduate Studies:
Professor John Cullen, Interim Dean

Representative of Graduate Studies Office:
Ms Ita McGuigan, Director of Postgraduate Academic Programmes

Dr Adrienne Kendlin
Ms Niamh Lynch
Dr John McGinnity

Bursar's Office:
Ms Jane Corcoran

Students' Union:
Ms Alex Balfe (VP Education, MSU)

  Academic Programmes Committee Terms of Reference

Committee Meeting Dates 2022-2023:

Wednesday, 14 September 2022, 11:00am
Wednesday, 19 October 2022, 11:00am
Wednesday, 23 November 2022, 11:00am
Wednesday, 14 December 2022, 11:00am
Wednesday, 18 January 2023, 11:00am
Wednesday, 1 March 2023, 11:00am
Wednesday, 10 May 2023, 11:00am

 New Academic Programme Proposal Process 2022-23