Hamilton Prize 2020

Friday, October 16, 2020 - 14:30

The Royal Irish Academy has today awarded the prestigious undergraduate Hamilton Prize to the top mathematical students in their penultimate year of study as nominated by their university. Ibec, who sponsor the RIA prize and Hamilton Day activities, see developing STEM talent as a key role in safeguarding Ireland’s economic future.

The online ceremony took place today to mark Hamilton Day, the anniversary of famed Irish scientist William Rowan Hamilton’s discovery of quaternion algebra on 16 October 1843. The virtual ceremony was attended by family and friends of the winners, as well as representatives from their university departments and members of the mathematics community in Ireland.
The 2020 Hamilton Prize winners are Daniel Devine, Trinity College Dublin; Chuan En Lau, TU Dublin; Emily Gribbin, Queen’s University Belfast; Mark Jennings, University College Dublin; David McMahon, University of Limerick; Peter Moody, Maynooth University; Oisín Morrison, NUI Galway; Diarmuid O'Donoghue, University College Cork; and Ronan Smith, Dublin City University.

For more information please see the following RIA Press Release.

2020 Hamilton Prize winner Peter Moody, Maynooth University