Spaces of Security - Wenner Gren Workshop 25- 28 April 2016

Image: ‘Nest 06’ © Jakub Geltner (
Monday, April 25, 2016 - 14:00 to 17:00
Renehan Hall, South Campus

Spaces of Security

A Wenner Gren Foundation Workshop
25 April – 28 April

From 25th to 28th April Professor Setha Low, Graduate Center, City University of New York, and Dr Mark Maguire, Maynooth University Department of Anthropology will host a Wenner Gren Foundation workshop on Spaces of Security: Local, National, Global.
The objective of this workshop is to bring greater theoretical precision to the growing body of anthropological scholarship on security. The workshop is closed to the public. However ...

Spaces of Security opens with an expert panel discussing key debates and approaches in security research.


Expert panel: Monday, 25 April, 2pm-5pm, Renehan Hall, South Campus

Chair: Lynn Boylan, MEP

Capt. Alan Kearney, PhD scholar and security expert specialising in C-IED and counterterrorism internationally

Ms Sadhbh McCarthy, Researcher in Maynooth University’s project RESET – Resilience & Security Tactics. Former Director of the Centre for Irish and European Security and participant within the European Security Research Programme (ESRP)

Guillaume Pitron, Journalist and documentary filmmaker. Guillaume has written about the symptomatic trends of globalisation for, among others, Le Monde Diplomatique, National Geographic, Afrique Magazine, and has developed reports and documentaries for France 2, France 3, Canal +, France 5, and Arte.
Followed by a reception hosted by Professor Bernard Mahon, Maynooth University Vice President for Research
To attend, please RSVP by 22 April.
Wenner Gren workshop participants include Setha Low (CUNY), Mark Maguire (MU), Joseph P. Masco (Chicago), Katherine Verdery (CUNY), Catherine Lutz (Brown University), Nurit Bird-David (University of Haifa, Israel), Carmen Rial (Universidade Federal de Santa Catarina, Brazil), Alejandro Grimson (National University of San Martin, Buenos Aires), Thomas G. Kirsch (Konstanz, Germany), Ursula Rao (Leipzig), Nils Zurawski (Hamburg), Zoltan Gluck (CUNY), and Stephen Graham (Newcastle).