About the Department of Anthropology

Maynooth University is home to the only department of anthropology in the Republic of Ireland. Our department was established in 1983 and since then has gained an international reputation for the quality of its research and the teaching and learning experience it provides. Located in the Faculty of Social Sciences, the Department of Anthropology at Maynooth University has eight academic staff members and two half-time executive assistants, and each year hires several Teaching Assistants; we also host post-doctoral researchers and Visiting Professors.