The composers on our staff work at the cutting edge of practice-led research. As active professional composers and academics, the composition team brings a wide range of expertise to composition tuition particularly in the areas of contemporary performance practices, Irish art music in the 20th and 21st centuries, Irish traditional music, computer-based music and jazz. The Department’s in-house contemporary music ensemble, Fuaim, gives students the opportunity to perform compositions of their own and of others. This, coupled with regular workshops from visiting composers, musicians, and ensembles, makes for a vibrant and dynamic contemporary musical life in the Music Department and wider University.

Much of the composition staff’s sizeable output has been performed throughout the world – live, on TV and on radio. In addition, original works and performances have led to a number of accolades and international recognition.  Composers from the Department have been awarded prizes including a BBC Performing Arts Fund Fellowship, the New Music for Sligo Audience Prize, the IAC/IMRO International Composition Competition and the Highly Commended Prize in the Jerome Hynes Composition Competition.
Academics involved in this area include:
Dr Gordon Delap
Prof. Victor Lazzarini
Dr Iain McCurdy
Dr Ryan Molloy
Dr Martin O’Leary

Composition modules in the Department at undergraduate at postgraduate level include:

MU155 Creativity & Technique I
MU156 Creativity & Technique II
MU214 Composition 2
MU218 Introduction to Composition
MU224 Electronic Music Composition
MU317 Single Original Composition
MU367 Double Original Composition
​MU370 Electronic Composition 1
​MU619A Electroacoustic Composition
MU633 Contemporary Compositional Techniques 1
MU634 Contemporary Compositional Techniques 2
MU645A Portfolio of Compositions