In 2019, there were no female presidents of universities in Ireland. By 2022, there were six.

Minister for Further & Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science & Justice, Simon Harris TD will open this historic event which will take place on Monday, 6th March 2023, 10:30am – 12:00pm, at the Technology, Society and Innovation Building (TSI) on the campus of Maynooth University. It will also be streamed online.

The panel of female university Presidents comprises Professor Eeva Leinonen, Maynooth University; Professor Veronica Campbell, South East Technological University; Professor Maggie Cusack, Munster Technological University; Provost, Dr Linda Doyle, Trinity College Dublin; Dr Orla Flynn, Atlantic Technological University and Professor Kerstin Mey, University of Limerick.

The conversation will be moderated by Irish Times Journalist Kathy Sheridan, who is known for her insightful coverage of social and political issues in Ireland. The panel discussion will cover a range of topics, including the Presidents’ personal leadership journeys, the value of gender equality in academia, and the opportunities and challenges facing higher education today.

The event is a powerful statement of the progress made towards gender equality in the higher education landscape in Ireland and presents a unique opportunity to hear from some of the most influential women in academia.