Seminars

Fridays 3.00 pm (unless stated otherwise)
Seminars will be delivered via the MU Microsoft Team "Experimental Physics Seminars".

Every effort is made to ensure the accuracy of this seminar programme but please contact
Peter van der Burgt for confirmation of details.
 

2020

Friday 6 November
Andrew Miller
Department of Experimental Physics, Maynooth University
"Fearful (A)Symmetry: Examining the Dynamics and Puzzling Structure of the HD163296 Outflow"

Friday 13 November
Daithí Byrne
Department of Experimental Physics, Maynooth University
"Design and Analysis of Quasioptical Components for Use in Terahertz Optics and Future CMB Missions"

Friday 27 November
Dr. Jennifer Gaughran
School of Physical Sciences, Dublin City University
"The Role of Microfluidics in Point-of-Care Diagnostics"

Friday 4 December
Dr. Luca Matrà
School of Physics, NUI Galway
"Exocometary Science"
Note: this seminar will start at 4 pm

Friday 11 December
Joe Brennan
Department of Experimental Physics, Maynooth University
"Towards Integrated Pixel Modelling"

2021

Friday 12 March
Dr. Priscilla Mooney
NORCE & Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research, Bergen, Norway
"The Future of a Hydrometeorological Phenomenon in the Cryosphere"

Friday 30 April
Julianne Kealy
Department of Experrimental Physics, Maynooth University
"A Study of Infrasound Signals in Mesopause OH* Emissions Using a Ground-Based Three-Element Array at Maynooth (53.3 °N, 6.6 °W)"

Friday 7 May
Dr. Carlos del Burgo Díaz
National Institute for Astrophysics, Optics and Electronics (INAOE), Puebla, Mexico
"A Bunch of Intriguing Exoplanets"

Friday 14 May
James Murphy
Department of Experrimental Physics, Maynooth University
"Optical Modelling and Instrument Calibration for QUBIC, the Q & U Bolometric Interferometer for Cosmology"

Friday 21 May
Aisling Murphy
Department of Experrimental Physics, Maynooth University
"Knot so Simple: Hidden Knots, Shocks and Wiggles in the Th 28 Jet"