# STRATEGIC RETENTION SUB-COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

## **CONSTITUTION:**

Maynooth University is committed to retaining high quality staff. In recognition of the extremely competitive environment that exists for highly-performing academic staff and to enable the University to respond rapidly to opportunities to retain such staff, the Governing Authority has established a Strategic Retention Sub-Committee that will advise the President on appropriate actions, including accelerated promotion, in exceptional circumstances where there is a clear case to be made of the strategic importance of an individual to the University. The Sub-Committee formally reports to and is a Sub-Committee of the Finance, Human Resources and Development Committee.

### **MEMBERSHIP:**

President (Convenor and Chair), all Faculty Deans, Vice-President for Research, Vice-President Academic, Registrar and Deputy President, Director of Human Resources, three Professors who are members of Academic Council; (to be elected to the Sub-Committee by the membership of Academic Council) and one external mmber of the Governing Authority who is a member of the Finance, Human Resources and Development Committee.

Due consideration will be given to the importance of gender balance in the election process.

# **FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS:**

The Sub-Committee shall meet as often as the President determines there is business to consider.

### **ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS:**

Other members of staff (e.g. the relevant Head of Department) or relevant external experts may be invited to attend and inform the Sub-Committee at the discretion of the President.

## MANDATE AND TERMS OF REFERENCE:

The Strategic Retention Sub-Committee is recognised by Academic Council and the Governing Authority as an approved advisory body to the President in cases in which it is likely that a staff member may be lost to a position outside the University, and where the University may wish to take strong action, including consideration of accelerated promotion, to retain that staff member.

The Strategic Retention Sub-Committee may be convened by the President in circumstances in which a staff member has applied for and been offered a position which is above their current level at Maynooth University, in a higher education institution, research institute or other knowledge-based organisation of comparable or higher standing to Maynooth University, and where the Dean and Head of Department, Institute or School sees it as important to retain the staff member. Retention may thus involve consideration of a counter offer of promotion to Senior Lecturer, Professor B or Professor A, depending on the specific circumstances.

In such cases, the Head should first make the case to the Dean of Faculty that the circumstances are exceptional and that there is a case for considering strong retention action, including the possibility of promotion. If the Dean agrees that there is a demonstrated case then he/she should make a documented recommendation to the President to consider convening the Strategic Retention Sub-Committee. If the staff member involved is a Head of Department or Research Institute, then the Dean will make the case directly to the President. If the President agrees that the circumstances are 'exceptional', and that there

is a prima facie case for strong action, including consideration of accelerated promotion, then the President will convene the Strategic Retention Sub-Committee.

Note that not all retention actions will necessarily require that the Strategic Retention Sub-Committee be convened. There is always a broad range of actions that are normally available to the President in his/her role as Chief Officer. The establishment of this committee would not in any way constrain the President's scope for executive action. The role of this Sub-Committee is to advise the President in cases in which exceptional action, including accelerated promotion, may be required.

For the avoidance of doubt, any promotions resulting from this process will be a valid promotion and will be notified to the Governing Authority in the normal way as outlined in the University Statutes.

# **SCHEDULE OF MEMBERSHIP 2018 - 2019:**

President (Chairperson and Convenor)
Vice-President Academic, Registrar & Deputy President
Vice-President for Research
Dean of Social Sciences
Dean of Science & Engineering
Dean of Arts, Celtic Studies & Philosophy
Professors (Members of Academic Council)

Professor Philip Nolan Professor Aidan Mulkeen Professor Ray O'Neill Dr Mark Maguire Professor Fiona Lyddy Professor Victor Lazzarini Professor Mary Corcoran Professor Marian Lyons Professor Seán O'Riain

one external mmber of the Governing Authority who is a member of the Finance, Human Resources and Development Committee.