

The Department of Economics, Finance & Accounting, Maynooth University invites you to a

Policy Forum

on

Higher Education Funding: The Potential Role of Income-Contingent Student Loans

Meeting Room, Royal Irish Academy House, Dawson Street, Dublin 2 9.30am-12.30pm, Thursday, September 7, 2017

All are welcome and registration is free, but please email Aedin.Doris@mu.ie if you plan to attend

Policy Forum on

Higher Education Funding: The Potential Role of Income-Contingent Student Loans

Programme

Chair: Frances Ruane (ESRI)

9.30-10.30: Opening Presentations

9.30-9.40: Welcome

9.40-9.50: Aedín Doris (Maynooth University)

9.50-10.00: Charles Larkin (Trinity College & Johns Hopkins University)

10.00-10.10: Bruce Chapman (Australian National University)

10.10-10.20: Aodhán Ó Ríordáin (Labour Party Education Spokesman, Seanad Éireann)

10.20-10.30: Lorraine Dearden (Institute for Fiscal Studies and University College London)

10.30-11.00: Coffee break

11.00-12.30: Discussion Forum

11.00-11.30: Speakers' responses to each other

11.30-12.30: Audience questions and comments

Speaker Biographies

Bruce Chapman is a Professor of Economics at the Australian National University. He has published over 200 papers and several books in the areas of higher education financing; student loans; income contingent loans; applied labour econometrics; the economics of cricket; crime; marital instability; fertility; and public policy. He is regarded as the architect of Australia's higher education contribution scheme, the first income contingent loan to be administered through a national tax system. He has been an advisor to the OECD, the World Bank and the governments of around 20 countries with respect to the design and implementation of income contingent student loans.

Lorraine Dearden is a Professor of Economics and Social Statistics in the Department of Social Science, University College London and a Research Fellow in the Education Sector at the Institute for Fiscal Studies. Her research focuses on the impact of education and training on labour market outcomes and company performance; evaluation of education and labour market policies; income support for students; higher education funding issues; intergenerational income and education mobility; and programme evaluation issues and methods. She is Deputy Director of the Centre for the Economics of Education (CEE) and is an elected fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences.

Aedín Doris is a Lecturer in Economics in the Department of Economics, Finance and Accounting at Maynooth University. She is an applied labour economist with interests in labour supply; the determinants of earnings and earnings inequality; and the economics of education. Her research has focussed on both policy and methodological issues in the analysis of labour markets, particularly in an Irish context. She contributed to the analysis of incomecontingent loans in the report of the Expert Group on Future Funding for Higher Education.

Charles Larkin is an adjunct lecturer at both Trinity College, Dublin and Johns Hopkins University. He has acted as a consultant to the Technological Higher Education Association and as an economic adviser to a member of Seanad Éireann. His research areas include monetary economics; financial economics; and the economics of higher education.

Aodhán Ó Ríordáin is a public representative. He is currently a member of Seanad Éireann and the Labour Party spokesman for Education in that house. He was previously Minister for State at the Departments of Justice and Equality; Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht; and Health. Prior to his entry into political life, he was a primary school principal.

Frances Ruane is a Research Affiliate and former Director of the Economic and Social Research Institute. Prior to her appointment to the ESRI, she was Professor of Economics at Trinity College Dublin. Her research is in the area of applied microeconomic analysis, including Irish economic development policy; foreign direct investment; taxation; and research and development. She is Chair of the Board of the Abbey Theatre.