# FINANCE, HUMAN RESOURCES AND DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

# **CONSTITUTION:**

The Governing Authority has established a Standing Committee of the Governing Authority known as the Finance, Human Resources and Development Committee which shall have an oversight role in relation to the implementation of the University Strategic Plan, the management of the finances and human resources of the University and the management of the assets of the University.

#### **MEMBERSHIP:**

The first members of the Committee shall be appointed by the Governing Authority and the term of office of the Committee shall be co-terminous with the term of office of the Governing Authority. The Committee shall consist of at least ten and not more than thirteen members. In appointing members, consideration should be given to the skills and independence of members and in particular it may be appropriate that members are external to both the university and the Governing Authority in order to ensure that, taken collectively, the membership has the necessary skills to fulfil the Terms of Reference of the Committee. The President or his nominee shall chair the Committee.

The initial members to be appointed by the Governing Authority shall be:

- the President (or his nominee);
- the Vice-President Academic and Deputy President
- the Bursar/Secretary
- at least four and no more than six non-executive members of the Governing Authority (of which at least two shall be external members); and
- the President of Maynooth Students' Union.

In addition, up to three external persons can be co-opted as full members of the Standing Committee by the Committee itself in order to complete the necessary skills amongst the membership to fulfil the remit of the Committee. The Committee must notify the Governing Authority promptly if the Committee co-opts any person to membership. Appointments to the Committee, both overall and within each category of membership, must be informed by the objective of achieving gender balance so far as it is possible to do so.

# **FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS:**

The Committee shall meet at least four times a year, normally at least once in each quarter year.

#### ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS:

The Bursar, Director of Human Resources, Vice-President of Operations or any other staff member of the University may, at the invitation of the Committee, attend the Committee for all or any part of a relevant meeting.

# TERMS OF REFERENCE AND MANDATE:

The Finance, Human Resources and Development Committee is responsible for oversight, in accordance with best governance practice, of the processes governing the implementation of the University Strategic Plan including:

• the processes and procedures supporting the development of buildings and estates;

- the processes and procedures supporting the preparation of financial budgets and plans;
- human resources policies, processes and procedures;
- the processes for ensuring that appropriate resources and capabilities are in place to meet the changing managerial, operational and technical needs of the University.

# Specifically, the Committee is required to:

- 1. support the development of the University Strategic Plan prior to presentation for the approval of the Governing Authority;
- 2. contribute to the preparation of plans for the medium-term and long-term development of the University campus prior to their presentation to the Governing Authority;
- 3. monitor the implementation of the Campus Development Plan and ensure that it is updated following periodic analyses of potential areas for development in the context of changing circumstances;
- 4. review and comment on financial plans and budgets prepared by the University Executive prior to their presentation for the approval of the Governing Authority;
- 5. oversee the process of preparing the fees schedule for University courses and recommend a schedule of fees to the Governing Authority for approval;
- 6. review recommendations from the University Executive on the acquisition, utilisation and disposal of University assets and in the case of items above a threshold of expenditure or of income that would exceed any of the amounts delegated for such decision to the President, recommend a course of action to the Governing Authority;
- 7. review whether the policies, processes and procedures used in the recruitment, selection and appointment of staff are in accordance with best practice and conform to the Statutes of the University;
- 8. review and support the development of policies, processes and procedures for staff promotion and re-grading, including confirming that consultation with third party representation organisations has occurred, and (as thought appropriate) recommend such policies, processes and procedures to the Governing Authority for approval;
- 9. in association with the Academic Council, review the regulations governing sabbatical leave and maintain oversight of such leave;
- 10. receive and consider an annual report of the Pension Administration Sub-Committee;
- 11. review the full schedule of all the documents formally sealed by the University since the previous Committee meeting (as the keeper of the seal of the University, the Bursar will put a schedule before the Committee for noting);
- 12. report to the Governing Authority after each meeting.

The Committee may establish sub-committees to assist it in completing its work. A sub-committee may include a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. Sub-committees must be chaired by a member of the Committee and shall be appointed by the Committee. The Governing Authority must be informed promptly if a sub-committee of the Committee is established.

The Committee may establish topic specific working groups to assist it in completing its work. A working group may have a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. The Committee shall appoint members to any working group it establishes.

# **SCHEDULE OF MEMBERSHIP 2018 - 2019:**

President (or nominee) - Chairperson
Mr James Cotter
Mr Leon Diop - President MSU
Ms Eliz Dunne
Mr Eugene Magee
Dr Anthony Malone
Professor Aidan Mulkeen
Ms Madeleine Mulrennan
Ms Paula Murray
Dr Mike O'Malley
Professor Sharon Todd