EQUALITY, DIVERSITY AND INTERCULTURALISM COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

CONSTITUTION:

The Equality, Diversity and Interculturalism Committee is established as a joint standing committee of the Governing Authority and Academic Council by the two statutory bodies. The Equality, Diversity and Interculturalism Committee shall keep under review the policy framework within which the University meets its equality responsibilities as set out in legislation and in the University's own Equality Policy document.

MEMBERSHIP:

The members of the Committee will be appointed jointly by the Governing Authority and Academic Council. The term of office of the Committee shall be co-terminous with the term of office of the Governing Authority. The members of the Committee shall be:

- the President (ex-officio) or his nominee (the President or his nominee shall chair the Committee);
- the Director of Human Resources (ex-officio);
- three members nominated by Academic Council (one from each faculty of the University, each of whom shall be a member of Academic Council);
- three members of the Governing Authority (of whom at least one shall be an external member);
- one member of the Partnership Committee (who must not be a person who is ex-officio a member of the Committee or who has been appointed to be a member of the Committee under any other category of membership of the Committee); and
- three representatives of Maynooth Students' Union (each nominated by the President of Maynooth Students' Union with the prior written agreement of the President of the University).

In addition, the Committee may itself co-opt as full members not more than three external persons if the Committee believes that it is necessary to do so in order to complete the necessary skills amongst the membership required to fulfil the remit of the Committee. The Committee must notify the Governing Authority and Academic Council promptly in the event that the Committee co-opts any person to membership. Appointments to the Committee, both overall and within each category of membership, must be informed by the objective of achieving gender balance so far as it is possible to do so.

FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS:

The Committee shall meet at least four times a year, normally at least once in each quarter year.

ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS:

Staff of the University may, at the invitation of the Committee attend for all or part of a meeting of the Committee. In addition, external independent experts may be asked by the Committee to attend all or part of a Committee meeting. The Equality Officer shall attend meetings of the Committee in order to prepare minutes for presentation to the next meetings of the Governing Authority and Academic Council. In the event the Equality Officer is unable to attend a meeting the Chairperson will make alternative arrangements for the preparation of minutes.

MANDATE:

The Committee is mandated to:

- promote the principle of equality of opportunity for all employees and students of the University;
- support the University's principles and values of equality, inclusiveness, social justice, respect, dignity and care for the individual;
- support the achievement of the University's strategic goal 'To be an excellent place to work, known for a collegial ethos which empowers all staff to contribute fully to the development of the university';
- provide guidance and direction in the development of an Equality Strategy and Action Plan which will address specific equality areas across the University;
- review progress in implementing the equality, diversity and interculturalism objectives of the University.

TERMS OF REFERENCE:

In accordance with best governance practice, the Committee will:

- 1. Review and comment upon proposed Equality, Diversity and Interculturalism Policies prior to their presentation to Academic Council and the Governing Authority for approval;
- 2. work with the University Executive in a collaborative manner to promote the Equality, Diversity and Interculturalism Policies of Maynooth University throughout the University;
- 3. work with the University Executive in a collaborative manner to provide guidance and direction for the achievement of equality, diversity and interculturalism objectives identified in the University Equality Plan;
- 4. advise the University Executive on compliance with all legislative requirements relating to equality, diversity and interculturalism matters through monitoring and audit;
- 5. work with the University Executive in a collaborative manner to support the University's participation in external equality monitoring;
- 6. work with the University Executive in a collaborative manner to monitor progress in the implementation of the University's equality objectives;
- 7. periodically review the operation of Maynooth University's equality, diversity and interculturalism policies, practices and achievements;
- 8. advise and comment upon proposals from University Executive on effective equality, diversity and interculturalism training for relevant employees;
- 9. to review and comment upon proposals from the University Executive for the enhancement of equality, diversity and interculturalism throughout the University and
- 10. provide the Governing Authority and Academic Council with an annual report on the activities of the Committee to include progress and potential risks in relation to equality, diversity and interculturalism.

The Committee may establish sub-committees to assist it in completing its work. A sub-committee may include a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. Sub-committees must be chaired by a member of the Committee and shall be appointed by the Committee. The Governing Authority must be informed promptly if the Committee establishes a sub-committee.

The Committee may establish a working group to deal with particular issues that arise in relation to aspects of its work. A working group may have a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. The Committee shall appoint members to any working group it establishes.

SCHEDULE OF MEMBERSHIP 2018 – 2019

Mr Seamus Taylor –	President's Nominee – (Chairperson)
Ms Rosaleen McCarthy –	Director of HR
Mr Seamus Taylor -	Member of Governing Authority
Ms Sheila Nunan -	External Member of Governing Authority
Ms Kim Lockyer -	VP Welfare MSU
Mr Kilian Woods-	MSU Postgraduate Representative
Ms Laurie Doré-	MSU Oifigeach na Gaeilge agus Gnóthaí Cultúrtha
Professor Andrew Coogan	-AC member – Faculty of Science and Engineering
Dr Kylie Jarrett -	AC member – Faculty of Arts, Celtic Studies and Philosophy
Professor Michael Doherty	AC member – Faculty of Social Sciences
Ms Ann Donoghue -	Member of the Partnership Sub-Committee
Ms Elizabeth Dunne	Co Opted
Ms Rose Ryan	Co Opted

In attendance: - Ms Sarah Hawes, HR Equality Officer - Secretary