COISTE GAEILGE NA hOLLSCOILE TERMS OF REFERNCE

CONSTITUTION:

Coiste Gaeilge na hOllscoile is established as a joint standing committee of the Governing Authority and Academic Council by the two statutory bodies. The Committee shall have oversight of the policies and procedures in place to promote the use of the Irish language on campus. The University is committed to preserve, promote and use the Irish language in all aspects of University life to the maximum extent possible. To support this aim, the University has established a joint committee of the Governing Authority and Academic Council to promote the use of the Irish language. The term of office of the Committee shall be co-terminous with the term of office of the Governing Authority. Given the University's commitment, the membership of this Joint Committee will include members from the Governing Authority, Academic Council and Executives of the University.

MEMBERSHIP:

The members of the Committee shall be:

- the President (ex-officio) or his nominee (the President or his nominee shall chair the Committee);
- the Professor of Nua-Ghaeilge (or his/her nominee);
- the Director of the Language Centre (or his/her nominee);
- two members appointed by the Governing Authority (neither of whom may be a person who is ex-officio a member of the Committee or who has been appointed to be a member of the Committee under any other category of membership of the Committee), at least one of whom should be internal to the University.
- two members of Academic Council (neither of whom may be a person who is ex-officio a member of the Committee or who has been appointed to be a member of the Committee under any other category of membership of the Committee), appointed by Academic Council;
- at least one and no more than two members of staff of the University (neither of whom may be a person who is ex-officio a member of the Committee or who has been appointed to be a member of the Committee under any other category of membership of the Committee), appointed by the President of the University;
- Oifeagach na Gaeilge/The Irish Language Officer;
- the President of Maynooth Students' Union (or his/her nomiee);
- one additional student nominated by the President of Maynooth Students' Union
- one student nominated by the President of the University; and
- up to three persons co-opted by the Committee where the Committee believes that to do so is necessary in order to complete the necessary skills amongst the membership to allow the Committee to complete its work.

The Committee must notify both the Governing Authority and Academic Council promptly if it coopts any member. Appointments to the Committee, both overall and within each category of membership, must be informed by the objective of achieving gender balance so far as it is possible to do so.

FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS:

The Committee shall meet at least four times per year, normally at least once in each quarter.

ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS:

The Oifigeach na Gaeilge shall attend meetings of the Committee in order to prepare minutes of the meetings prepare an annual report for the University Executive, the Governing Authority and the Academic Council. In the event the Oifigeach na Gaeilge is unable to attend a meeting the Chairperson will make alternative arrangements for the preparation of minutes. External independent experts may be invited to attend Committee meetings for all or part of a meeting at the invitation of the Committee. Other staff of the University may be asked to attend all or part of meetings of the Committee at the request of the Committee.

MANDATE AND TERMS OF REFERENCE:

The Committee shall:

- 1. promote the use of the Irish language throughout the University;
- 2. support the University in its efforts to promote the language;
- 3. advise the University on its strategy for the promotion of the Irish language, and its Sceim Teanga and
- 4. review the progress of the language within the University, and provide an annual report to both the Governing Authority and Academic Council.

The Committee may establish topic specific working groups to assist it in completing its work. A working group may have a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. The Committee will appoint members to any working group that it establishes.

SCHEDULE OF MEMBERSHIP 2016 - 2017:

Professor Sean Ó Riain- President's nominee – *Chairperson* Professor Aidan Mulkeen Dr Liam MacAmhlaigh Ms Sailí Ní Dhroighneáin Ms Aisling Ní Bheacháin Ms Laura Connaughton Ms Eilis Murray Ms Siún Ní Dhuinn Ms Orla Bradshaw - *Secretary* Mr Kevin Boushel Mr Darragh Moran Ms Ailbhe Ryan