## QUALITY COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE

#### **CONSTITUTION:**

The Quality Committee is established as a joint standing committee of the Governing Authority and Academic Council by the two statutory bodies. The Quality Committee shall have an oversight role in relation to the discharge of the University's obligations for internal and external quality assurance and quality enhancement.

#### **MEMBERSHIP:**

The members of the Committee will be appointed jointly by the Governing Authority and Academic Council. The term of office of the Committee shall be co-terminous with the term of office of the Governing Authority. The membership of the Committee shall be:

- the President (ex-officio) or his nominee (the President or his nominee shall chair the Committee);
- the Director of Quality (ex-officio);
- three members nominated by Academic Council (one from each faculty of the University, each of whom shall be a member of Academic Council);
- a member of the Governing Authority drawn from the academic members;
- a member of the Governing Authority drawn from the administrative, professional and technical staff members;
- an external member of the Governing Authority;
- the President of Maynooth Students' Union (or his or her nominee); and
- the postgraduate student representative on the Governing Authority.

Appointments to the Committee should be informed by the objective of achieving gender balance to the greatest extent possible.

## **FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS:**

The Committee shall meet at least four times per annum, normally at least once in each quarter year.

### ATTENDANCE AT MEETINGS:

The Director of Quality will act as Secretary to the Committee. In the event the Director is unable to attend a meeting the Chairperson will make alternative arrangements for the preparation of minutes. Other members of staff may, at the invitation of the Committee, attend for all or part of a meeting of the Committee. In addition, outside experts may be asked by the Committee to attend all or part of a Committee meeting.

#### TERMS OF REFERENCE AND MANDATE:

The functions of the Quality Committee are, using best governance practice, to:

- 1. support the University in discharging its statutory responsibilities in relation to internal and external quality assurance and enhancement;
- 2. formulate a University policy statement and strategy for quality assurance and enhancement, in the context of the University Strategic Plan;

- 3. oversee the implementation of a multi-annual programme of internal quality reviews;
- 4. support the University participation in external institutional reviews;
- 5. review progress on the implementation of recommendations arising from internal quality reviews;
- 6. promote public awareness and confidence in the quality performance of the University;
- 7. consider reports relevant to national and international benchmarking of the University and identify and disseminate examples of good and best practice; and
- 8. prepare an annual report for the University Executive, the Governing Authority and the Academic Council.
- 9. The Committee may establish sub-committees to assist it in completing its work. A subcommittee may include a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. Subcommittees must be chaired by a member of the Committee and shall be appointed by the Committee. The Governing Authority must be informed promptly if a sub-committee of the Committee is established.
- 10. The Committee may establish topic specific working groups to assist it in completing its work. A working group may have a minority of members who are not members of the Committee. The Committee shall appoint members to any working group it establishes.

# **MEMBERSHIP 2021 – 2022**

Dr Alison FitzGerald (*Chairperson*) Dr Teresa Lee, Director of Quality (*Secretary*) Ms Joan O'Riordan-Bruton (Member of Governing Authority) Ms Sarah Searson (External Member of Governing Authority) Professor Fiona Lyddy, (Faculty of Science and Engineering, AC Rep) Professor Joseph Coughlan (Faculty of Social Sciences, AC Rep) Dr Conor McCarthy (Faculty of Arts, Celtic Studies & Philosophy, AC Rep) Mr Niall Daly (MSU Rep/VP for Education) Ms Nicole Carr (MSU Postgraduate Representative)