Maynooth University celebrates with Staff Awards

Tuesday, June 4, 2019 - 10:45

The Maynooth University Staff Recognition Awards were celebrated at a ceremony in Phoenix on Thursday, 30th May. The awards recognise the outstanding contributions by staff in three categories; Teaching Awards, Research Awards, and President’s Award for Service Excellence and Innovation.

The awardees are as follows:
Teaching Awards

  • Dr Ciarán Mac an Bhaird, Dept of Mathematics & Statistics
  • Dr Patricia Kennon, Froebel Dept of Primary and Early Childhood Education
  • Dr Seamus McLoone, Dept of Electronic Engineering
  • Critical Skills Team (Dr Brian McKenzie​, Dr Eamon Darcy​, Dr Adeline Cooney, Dr Susan Giblin​, Dr Máire Ní Mhórdha​, Dr Denis Casey​, Jonathan Brown​, Dr Aneta Stepien​, Dr Adrian Kirwan​)

Research Awards
Early Career Research Achievement Awards

  • Dr Gerard McCarthy, Dept of Geography, ICARUS (FSS and overall winner, Maynooth University Early Career Research Achievement Award 2019)
  • Dr Ozgur Bayram, Dept of Biology, Human Health Institute (FSE)
  • Dr John Paul Newman, Dept of History, Centre for European and Eurasian Studies (FASCP)

Research Achievement Awards 2019

  • Prof Kath Browne, Dept of Geography (FSS)
  • Space Optics Group (Prof Anthony Murphy, Dr Creidhe O’Sullivan, Dr Neil Trappe, Dr Marcin Gradziel) (FSE and overall winner Maynooth University Research Achievement Award 2019)
  • Prof Patricia Palmer, Dept of English (FACSP)

President’s Awards for Service Excellence

Service Excellence


  • Alice Normoyle, Admissions Office
  • Kathleen Cox, Student Services
  • Lynn Conlon, Bursar’s Office


  • Chemistry Department Technical Officers
  • MU Security - Day Team

President’s Awards for Service Innovation

  • Ria Collery Walsh, Chemistry Department


  • Library’s Evidence Based Acquisitions (EBA)
  • Launchpad – Maynooth Access Programme