ICARUS researchers have made substantial contributions to university, national and international bodies and activities. Ongoing activities are detailed here. Historical activities are detailed below the fold.

Service to University

Rowan Fealy and Conor Murphy
Convenors of the cluster on Climate and Environmental Change​

Rod Teck
Member, Maynooth Green Campus Committee

John Sweeney
Member, Maynooth Green Campus Committee​
University Representative: Kildare County Council Heritage Forum

National service

Rowan Fealy
​Member, Royal Irish Academy Climate Change Committee
Committee member, Future Earth Ireland, Royal irish Academy​

Conor Murphy
Member, Irish National Committee for the International Hydrological Programme​
Member, Advisory Committee on Climate Change for Implementation of the Water Framework Directive​
Member of the National Climate Change Adaptation Committee

John Sweeney
President: An Taisce: the National Trust for Ireland
Member: Council for Justice and Peace of the Irish Episcopal Conference
Board Member: Friends of the Earth Ireland
Member: Intel Community Advisory Panel

International service

Rowan Fealy
Participant in the WCRP-Euro CORDEX initiative​

Conor Murphy
Member, editorial board of the International Journal of Extreme Events​
Review Editor Urban Climate Change Research Network (UCCRN) Global Assessment Report 3​

Peter Thorne
Chair, International Surface Temperature Initiative 2010 -
Co-Chair, GCOS Working Group on the GCOS Reference Upper Air Network 2003-
Chair, WMO Commission for Climatology Group of Rapporteurs on Observational Issues 2015-
Member, BIPM Consultative Committee on Thermometry Task Team on the Environment 2014 -

 John Sweeney
Committee of the Shanghai Climate Change Research Center
Expert Evaluator, Qatar National Research Programme, Government of Qatar
Programme Committee, Manchester European City of Science 2016, Manchester
EuroScience Open Forum 2016